Inboc

Check your daily Inboc

Prisoners and hats puzzle Februari 1, 2007

Filed under: Riddle — inboc @ 9:51 am

According to the story, four prisoners are arrested for a crime, but the jail is full and the jailer has nowhere to put them. He eventually comes up with the solution of giving them a puzzle so if they succeed they can go free but if they fail they are executed.

Red Blue Hat

The jailer puts three of the men sitting in a line. The fourth man is put behind a screen (or in a separate room). He gives all four men party hats (as in diagram). The jailer explains that there are two red and two blue hats. The prisoners can see the hats in front of them but not on themselves or behind. The fourth man behind the screen can’t see or be seen by any other prisoner. No communication between the men is allowed.

If any prisoner can figure out and say (out loud) to the jailer what colour hat he has on his head all four prisoners go free. The puzzle is to find how the prisoners can escape.

Can they escape?

How?

 

4 Responses to “Prisoners and hats puzzle”

  1. “Prisoners and hats puzzle Inboc” was in fact a truly great
    post, . Keep writing and I will continue following!
    Thanks ,Lilly

  2. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I get four
    emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a means you are
    able to remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be actually one thing which I feel I would never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very wide for me. I am looking
    ahead to your subsequent put up, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!


Tinggalkan Balasan

